Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Integrated Sensory Learning Groups

Throughout Cycles 1, 2 and 3 we have Integrated Sensory Learning groups (ISLs) which are for those pupils idenitified as having significant sensory communication and learning challenges

ISL 1 are currently using Rashid Early Years Curriculum which is “Playful Beginning to Learning”. It is based on the British Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS), and its Areas of Learning and Development are Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development, Communication, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design. Whereas, in the older ISL classes the emphasis is on areas in the British National Curriculum which include:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Physical education (PE), including swimming (for most classes)

We use different teaching approaches such as:
  • Sensory Integration - Understanding hidden and overt sensory challenges is a multi disciplinary approach to enabling children to respond sensory input from their own bodies and the environment.
  • Total Communication - Use of any or all modalities to communicate, which would include spoken word, Makaton Signs, Picture, Exchange, Communication, System (PECS), Body languages, Standardized gestures and symbols.
  • Intensive Interaction – This is started when the child is very young as it foms the basis of communication. It is an informal, child-led approach which develops early communication and positive relationships.
  • Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.